"Real liberty is neither found in despotism or the extremes of democracy, but in moderate governments.
Alexander Hamilton

Friday, June 30, 2017

Nearly Half of States Refusing to Turn Over Voter Information to Presidential Commission on Election Integrity. NH Not One of Them

NH Sec. of State William Gardner , who is a member of the commission, said that NH will comply and will turn over publicly available voter checklist information.
Commission Vice Chairman and Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach, asked states to turn over “publicly available voter roll data” including full names, addresses, birth dates, party affiliation, voter history, any felony convictions and the last four digits of voters’ social security numbers."

Per Gardner, social security numbers won’t be provided to the commission because it’s not part of New Hampshire’s public voter checklists. All Gardner has said he will provide are names, addresses and party affiliation, if any.
I don't have a problem with turning over what any member of the public has a legal right to access, even a Presidential commission. What is wrong is the formation of the commission itself and our NH Sec. of State who admits there is no voter fraud in NH, participating in this farce which only perpetuates President Trumps false claim that millions voted illegally last November. 
The driving force of the Commission is the aforementioned Kris Kobach, who has a long history of voter suppression and questionable tactics.  Kobach was the source of the information that caused President Trump to claim that he would have won the popular vote if you deduct the millions of people who voted illegally.  Kellyanne Conway named Kobach as a source of the claim.
In the Live Free or Die State, I don't hear any  outcry about concerns for privacy and giving personal information to the big bad Federal government. Not a peep from the Tea Party in opposition. 
I guess the voter fraud conspiracy Trumps ( pun intended) their extreme ideology. 

1 comment:

Moultonboro Blogger said...

Correction: now 27 states refuse